Giving to Physics: Physics Chair's Challenge Begins Now! Make an impact on our students...

Department of Physics Faculty At A Glance

Dr. Henry Abarbanel

Dr. Michael Anderson

Dr. Daniel Arovas

Dr. Richard Averitt

Dr. Julio Barreiro

Dr. Dimitri Basov

Dr. James Branson

Dr. Adam Burgasser

Dr. Leonid Butov

Dr. Alison Coil

Dr. Eva-Maria S. Collins

Dr. Max (Massimiliano) Di Ventra

Dr. Patrick Diamond

Dr. Fred Driscoll

Dr. Daniel Dubin

Dr. Olga Dudko

Dr. Michael Fogler

Dr. George Fuller

Dr. Kim Griest

Dr. Benjamin Grinstein

Dr. Alexander Groisman

Dr. Jorge Hirsch

Dr. Michael Holst

Dr. Terence Hwa

Dr. Kenneth Intriligator

Dr. Elizabeth Jenkins

Dr. Suckjoon Jun

Dr. Brian Keating

Dr. Dusan Keres

Dr. David Kleinfeld

Dr. Julius Kuti

Dr. Aneesh Manohar

Dr. M. Maple

Dr. John McGreevy

Dr. Thomas Murphy

Dr. Michael Norman

Dr. Thomas O'Neil

Dr. Hans Paar

Dr. Ivan Schuller

Dr. Vivek Sharma

Dr. Oleg Shpyrko

Dr. Sunil Sinha

Dr. Douglas Smith

Dr. Clifford Surko

Dr. David Tytler

Dr. Massimo Vergassola

Dr. Congjun Wu

Dr. Frank Wuerthwein

Dr. Avi (Avraham) Yagil

Science in the News

UCSD Physics Awards

Cosmology Prize Recognizes 'Inventive' Proposed Test of Fundamental Physics

Two UC San Diego astrophysicists together with a colleague at Columbia University have been awarded a 2014 Buchalter Cosmology Prize for a paper proposing a way to signif... Read More

Brian Keating wins NASA Achievement Award
Brian Keating wins NASA Achievement Award from Administrator Charles Bolden for designing and flying the Cosmic Infrared Background ExpeRiment (CIBER) four times on a NAS... Read More

Sunil Sinha awarded the 2015 Roentgen Medal for X-ray Science
UCSD Physics Professor Sunil Sinha was awarded the Roentgen Medal for X-ray Science to be presented in 2015 by the Mayor of Reimscheid, the town where Roentgen was born... Read More

Ivan K. Schuller, Distinguished Professor awarded 2014 NTN NanoStar Award
NanoTecNexus (NTN-, a leading nanotech educational organization celebrated its 10th Anniversary by launch... Read More

Previous Awards

UCSD Physics News

Click here to download the most recent Department of Physics' newsletter.

Statistical Mechanics of Viral Invasion Strategy

Professor Olga Dudko and graduate student Yajoun Zhang developed a theory that explains quantitatively how viruses can infect cells on remarkably short time scales despit...Read More

Professor Brian Keating receives 2014 UC San Diego Diversity Award
Congratulations to Brian Keating for being nominated by Suresh Subramani - Executive Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs to receive a 2014 UC San Diego Diversity Award! <...Read More

Study Sheds Light on What Causes Cells to Divide
When a rapidly-growing cell divides into two smaller cells, what triggers the split? Is it the size the growing cell eventually reaches? Or is the real trigger the time p...Read More

San Diego linked to major moments, from Ebola fight to Big Bang claim
Oh, what sweet agony.

Brian Keating knew early this year that scientists appeared to have found an echo of the Big Bang, or birth of the universe. But the UC San Di...Read More

Previous News

UCSD Physics Colloquium


    Title:  "DESI Explores Dark Energy"
    Time:   4:00PM
    Speaker:  Robert Cahn
    Affiliation:  Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory
    Location:  Garren Auditorium (BSB)

UCSD Physics Seminars


    Title:  "Below the Mott Gap: Cluster Mott Insulator and Quantum Spin Liquid"
    Time:   4:00PM
    Research Group:  Condensed Matter Physics Seminar
    Speaker:  Gang Chen
    Affiliation:  University of Toronto
    Location:  Mayer Room

View all seminars